Of Mice And Isolation With Time To Run While Holding Beanie Babies ♫

Today I finished this book called “Now is the Time for Running” by Michael Williams. It’s really great! It’s about this guy named Deo that lived in Zimbabwe. He had a family there, and they all died due to the “president” armies? I don’t know much about African history. I am sorry. He runs all the way to South Africa, and before he gets there he meets interesting people and learns a lot about himself along the way. It’s really good. It even talks about soccer a lot! How soccer helps Deo cope with things and loss. I really do recommend picking it up.

“Isolation” by Travis Thrasher is another one. It’s about this missionary family who moved back to North Carolina from Papua New Guinea. There the wife experience visions , father finds lack of faith in God, the boy is exploring the big house they live in, and the sister is just really there to be a character. Angels, demons, and faith play a huge part in this book. It’s really good, and I would recommend it.

Right now I am reading “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck. I was never given the option to read it in high school. I can see why too. it’s barely a 100 pages, and I am already on ago 40. I started this book 20 minutes ago haha. has anyone read this? So far the book is good, but I am so uncomfortable reading this. it’s like my watching The Walking Dead, and cringing at all the inhumane parts of the TV show. The N word doesn’t bother me, because well that’s how it was back then. it what happened to the puppies, and the poor mice that Lennie finds haha. This has some sick dark humor to it, but it’s still a good book.

In other news does anyone still collect beanie babies? I posted them on my instagram, and I got a little nostalgic. I posted a semi story in the second link below. It’s not a long read like this blog is I promise).

#tbt beanie babies!!! I've had malt of these since middle school!

A post shared by Ally (@nephthysphoenix) on

This entry was posted in Animals, Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Serenity Reply ♫

