The Boy In The Striped Pajamas – Review ♫

Where to begin with this book? Well I read the book about two weeks ago, and I really liked it; but I think the book is full of flaws. For starters it gives you a PG version of what happens to kids in the concentration camp. It really didn’t get to PG-13 level till really the last chapter. I also found this book in the kids section at my local library. I don’t really consider this book a kids book but whatever. I think this misleads children and teens to actually how an actual concentration camp works. Also, the flaws in this book; especially, with the fence. It makes you ask questions like “why did no one ever get out for being that neglected?” or “Unpatrolled?” I don’t want to give too much away. It’s really hard to list the flaws without pointing out what exactly what happened without giving the book away. I think y’all will get what I mean when you get further into the book.

One thing that bugged me was the constant switch of british english to american english. Please stick with one. Don’t use miles and feet. Use kilometers or whatever it is that Europe uses. I feel like the author should have stuck with one language, and British English would have been more suffice. Maybe even the book released in America could have stuck with “Pyjamas.” Also, I feel like in some parts of the book the reader won’t understand. Hell, I didn’t understand bits until I looked up on Wikipedia to figure out what was going on. For a “childrens” book, I doubt the reader as well will understand. Maybe a teen an adult, but nothing younger.

Now, I really like this book, and it’s very sad; but at a point I felt like the reader made Bruno TOO oblivious to the world. Then again maybe at that time some education felt the need to not tell little kids about what goes on in the world. I would figure Gretel would have a better grasp on life instead of acting like a spoiled brat, but that’s just me. Now, the writing was good! I think the author did a good job on that. If anyone likes a simple story about two boys being friends then by all means go read it. The story isn’t perfect, but like I said I Really did enjoy it! I just think it could have been better.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Boy In The Striped Pajamas – Review ♫

  1. writingscarz says:

    I haven’t read this book and don’t plan to, but I agree with sticking with one language..switching back and forth like that can be confusing. And I would never think that this book would be in the kids section…but idk, never can tell what people are thinking. At least you liked it overall!

Serenity Reply ♫

